Support Worker (Comminicator/Guide)

Application deadline closed.

Job Description

I am a 57 year-old single lady with Usher Syndrome who lives in her own home.  Being registered both visual and hearing impaired, I consider myself to be an independent, active and organised individual.

Looking to recruit three flexible part-time staff to work a combined total of 32 hours pw split over 9am-4.30pm Mondays & Wednesdays, 9am-2pm Tuesdays, 9am-4pm Fridays and alternate Thursdays & Saturdays 9am-2pm.  Please confirm preferred days/hours at application stage.

Successful applicants must have their own car, will be required to complete a DBS check, provide 2 references, and prove entitlement to work in the UK.

Experience, knowledge or awareness of deafness, blindness or both is an advantage, but not essential as training can be provided.

VALUES/QUALITIES – Confidential, trustworthy, patient, flexible, adaptable, reliable, punctual, good oral/written communication skills (including use of computers), organised, able to multitask, be proactive, use initiative, willingness to learn and go on training courses, and provide emotional support when I am feeling upset, frustrated or anxious.

My first language is English and I enjoyed a varied working career until my disabilities became too restrictive. I wear both a hearing aid and cochlear implant. Various environmental factors influence my hearing capacity so rely on my Communicator/Guide (my eyes and ears) to relay information and help me communicate.  My main sight problems are tunnel vision and little definition.  Whilst it continues to deteriorate, I don’t allow it to stop me from running my own home or participating in various activities. This is when my Communicator/Guide becomes a valuable extra pair of eyes.

I have a fun and mischievous personality, like to keep busy and, with my support person’s assistance, make good use of my PC and laptop, enjoy knitting, cooking healthy meals, attending the gym, walking around the local park, beauty salon/hairdresser treatments, discussing local/national news, and eating cake! My Communicator/Guide will use their own car to assist me to attend appointments at local hospitals, GP, dentist, etc,  complete paperwork, ensure all areas are free from trip hazards, make and take telephone calls on my instruction, read letters, go for odd day/evenings out, and various other duties as required.  I am open to trying new things and new experiences.

A female Support Worker/Communicator Guide is essential as assistance with trying on new clothes/underwear, taking into public toilets, etc is part of the role.  Being human I have days when my energy levels are low or I don’t feel at my best and rely on my Communicator/Guide to take the lead and support me through the day with compassion, firmness, kindness and understanding.   Training (including e-learning) will be provided where/if necessary to build on  your current knowledge and skills.

Approx 10 hrs per week
62 Dovercliffe Road
L13 5YD
Job Type
£11.00 per hour
Working with people who are blind / slight impaired, Other